Driving best-practice procurement in Wales

3Food Hygiene & Safety

Don't forget...


Since 2006, food business and outlets supplying food have been required by law to have a written food safety management system based on HACCP principles.  HACCP stands for Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point and is not a standard but rather a system of working.  HACCP is concerned with the 3 classes of hazards to food hygiene:-

  • biological hazard (virus, bacteria ...)
  • chemical hazard (pesticides, additives ...)
  • physical hazard (wood, glass ...)

There are seven principles of HACCP, which affect the supply, preparation, packaging, storage and distribution of food. They are:

  • 1 - Identifying any hazards
  • 2 - Identifying critical control points for food safety
  • 3 - Establishing limits to ensure food hygiene
  • 4 - Effective monitoring
  • 5 - Establishing corrective actions
  • 6 - Having written procedures
  • 7 - Record keeping

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) and the Local Authority Environmental Health Department can assist organisations and food businesses in developing their HACCP plans if required.

This origins of the HACCP concept will be looked at in the next sub-folder.


Don't forget...

It is law for food suppliers to have a written food safety management system in place based on HACCP principles AND for traceability to be established at all stages of the food chain.

Esc to close